Buddha Bowl with Quinoa

I’ve spent 30 years of my life as an ovo-lacto vegetarian, and two years as a very strict (and wheat-free) vegan. About two years ago I left those styles of eating behind, and now I cook and consume meat at least a couple of times a week. However, my love for vegetable-based meals hasn’t diminished. That’s why at least once a week I eat a buddha bowl with quinoa.

quinoa
White quinoa

This is my favourite preparation for a buddha bowl, a creation of Alyssa at Simply Quinoa. Her weekly newsletter is great, full of lovely quinoa ideas. As I’ve made the recipe a bunch of times, it’s slowly changed, so these days, my version consists of :

  • Baby kale
  • Baby carrots
  • Halved Brussels sprouts
  • Whole brown crimini mushrooms

I toss these veggies with some olive or grapeseed oil, roast them for about 20-25 minutes, and serve them on a bed of quinoa. I top it with the cashew-tahini sauce as per Alyssa’s recipe, then sprinkle it with hemp hearts and black chia seeds. So yummy.